In memory of Ann Masson
Ann Masson acquired a spinal cord injury at the age of 14 and was provided with treatment and  rehabilitation at the National Spinal Injuries Centre (NSIC), Stoke Mandeville Hospital for a period of  two years.  Under the encouragement of Sir Ludwig Guttmann, Masson represented Great Britain at  the 1960 and 1964 Paralympics and in 1962 at the Commonwealth Games.  In 1960 in Rome Masson  won a gold medal for swimming and in 1962 won a gold and two silver medals in Perth.  Ann Masson died in January 2011.  Subsequent to her death, a legacy fund was donated to the Stoke  Mandeville Hospital aiming to support research into spinal cord injuries. Parts of these funds have  been allocated to the “Stoke Mandeville-Masson Research Awards”
Awards Committee
Awards Advisory Panel
Documents (click to view/download) Guidance for Applicants  Outline application form Terms of Reference Award Committee  Call for Outline applications e-poster 
The Stoke Mandeville-Masson Research Awards The Research Board of the National Spinal Injuries Centre at Stoke Mandeville Hospital successfully bid for £240,000 to establish the one-  off Stoke Mandeville-Masson Awards that are intended to provide funding for research projects which are guided by the national agenda for research into spinal cord injury and aim to enhance the health and wellbeing of individuals living with spinal cord injury and their  caregivers. Applicants can apply for up to £120,000 of funding. Up to £240,000 has been made available to support two to four spin-off research  projects which are expected to be completed within one to three calendar years. Important Dates Deadlines Date Open for ‘outline application’ submissions  1 Aug 2014  Close of submissions of ‘outline applications’  30 Oct 2014, 17:00 GMT  The call for ‘outline applications’ has now closed and all received applications  4 Nov 2014  are currently under review  Completion of Peer Review & Triage  27 Nov 2014  Open for ‘full application’ submissions  1 Dec 2014  Close of submissions of ‘full applications’  29 Jan 2015, 17:00 GMT  Completion of Peer Review & Outcome  26 Mar 2015  Funding Announcement  Apr/May 2015 
Web Site design by The Technology Framework
Info Info Info Info Info Info Info
Prof. Paul Kennedy (Chair) Dr. Joost J. van Middendorp Ms. Denise Watson Dr. Nigel Henderson Mr. Nelson Garcia-Narvaez Dr. Julian Taylor PPI Rep 1 Christa Dyson Ms. Jane Horsell
Prof. Hans Frankel Assoc. Prof. James Middleton Prof. Mark S. Nash Dr. Peter New Prof. Wagih El Masri(y) Dr. Anke Scheel Dr. Henk Van de Meent
Info Info Info Info Info Info Info Info